Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Don't Abandon The Women of Afghanistan!

In an opinion piece on CNN, Paula Dobriansky and Melanne Verveer say:

"Nothing is more important for Afghanistan than building on the liberalizing achievements of the past decade and preventing a slide back toward repression.

This is why it is crucial to retain and expand the hard-won rights of Afghan women.  Gender equality isn't just a matter of moral fairness -- it's essential to the country's economic and political health and to ensuring that the nation has a secure, peaceful and stable future."

And this is why it is so important for our Afghan women's theatre troupes to get out there and get out the vote!  

You can read the full article here: Don't Abandon the Women of Afghanistan.

Our wonderful contributors!

Our IndieGoGo campaign to support Afghan Women Speak Out through Theatre was a success -- we raised our goal and then some!  Over a hundred of you rallied together with generous donations to give this project the boost it needed to succeed.  Now, thanks to you, our Afghan women's theatre troupes will be able to to reach isolated women across Afghanistan to be sure they are aware of their right to vote and to encourage them to participate in the upcoming election, in which so much is at stake.

Thank you for standing with the women of Afghanistan!  We salute you, one and all!

Donna Butcher-Thorpe
Stephen Fryburg
Duska Bisconti
Sandra Heath
Rose Haywood
Mei Wei Wong
Meghan Frank
Everett Ellestad
Frank Juliano
Patrick Sciarrata
Deirdre Towers
David Diamond
Romy Clugston
Laura Wilson
Phyllis Brodsky
Hilary Chaplain
Rebecca and Gary
Mary Dino
Thomas Neuman
Lorri Kendrick
Jeanne Fleming
Ray Leslee
Mike Seliger
Beth Brodsky
Deborah Ben-Eliezer
Audrey Crabtree
Susan Snyder
Andrew Arnault
Nicholas Wolfson

Catherine Coulter
Sigrid Nyholm
Mireille Bergenstrom
Leslie Elias
Bruce Williamson
Matt Opatrny
Martha Richards
Marsha Gildin
Erika Person
Katy Rubin
Lia Gladstone
Frauke Luhning
Gretchen & Bo Gerard
Arlene Lefkoe
Andrew Teirstein
Julie Pasqual
Susan Voyticky
Shirley Caulkins
John & Alice Tepper Marlin
Lilian Manansala
Laura Shamas
Elana Gartner
Katie Down
Jacqueline Davis
Helen Jamieson
Kaja Gam
Shelley Wyant
Michael Bongar
Sarah Knight
Joshua Wynter & Tami

Laurie McCants
Bruce Allardice
Brenda Jean Foley
Sarah Johnson
Ruth Zamoyta
Lisa Karrer
Suzanne Haring
Daniel Williams
Matthew Fass
Annie Dino
Amy Trompetter
Ilanna Saltzman
Lisa Travis
Caitlin White
Laine Barton
Margaret Mills
Laura Foord
Joel Zimmerman
Rhona Sewell
Michael Preston
Anna Hacker
John Towsen
Project Troubador!

We also thank our many
anonymous donors!